Close this search box.

Maha Sarasvati liberates against subtler demons

In The Devi Mahatmya, in the third episode the demons are more complex and subtler. This time the chief demons are

  1. Sumbha (Asmita: “I”/ “Me”, the pseudo-self) and
  2. Nisumbha (Mamata: “Mine”, the attachment to things that the false self clings to) who along with their generals
  3. Canda (pra-vrtti or extraverted psychic energy),
  4. Munda (ni-vritti or introverted psychic energy),
  5. Dhumralochana (distorted perception) and
  6. Raktabija (citta vrttis or incessant compulsive thought processes), are a formidable force to reckon with.

Overcoming these subtler demons requires a luminous, benevolent and beautiful manifestation, one that can enlighten and liberate. This is the manifestation as Maha Sarasvati predominated by Sattva.